“Today I Cried for You – A Poem for My Birth Mother”

Beautiful poem written by an adult adoptee to her birth mother she never met.

Today I Cried For You – A Poem For My Birth Mother
By Aandra Ibtissem Von Bohlen Hall-Sharif

I cried for what I’ll never know
I cried for what I’ve never showed.
About the loss of you, my birth mother
and what you never knew about me
your birth daughter.
Today I cried.

I’ll never see your face,
touch or hug you in a warm embrace.
I’ll never fully know my race or
the heritage that is called my birth place.
Today I cried.

I cried for what you’ll never know
About what became of your birth daughter
from so many years ago.
You’ll never know the man I’ll marry
or the many people in my heart I carry.
Today I cried.

I cried that you’ll never meet my parents
who took your place
and created a life I would never forsake.
Today I cried.

I cried for any sorrows that you have felt
for the decisions that changed your life
the day you left me on those orphanage steps.
Today I cried.

I cried for all the guilt and blame,
I’ve placed on you with no shame.
Today I cried.

I cried for the two women I share
whose love is unique and can’t be compared.
Today I cried for you.

Love – Your Birth Daughter

One thought on ““Today I Cried for You – A Poem for My Birth Mother”

Leave a Reply

